Aditya Johri

About Me Aditya Johri

I am an Associate Professor in the Department of Information Sciences & Technology in the Volgenau School of Engineering, George Mason University. I direct the Engineering Education and Cyberlearning Laboratory (EECL) at GMU.

Before joining GMU, I was an associate professor at Virginia Tech in the department of Engineering Education, Computer Science (courtesy), Industrial and Systems Engineering (courtesy) and Science and Technology in Society (courtesy).

I received my Ph.D. from Stanford University in 2007.

Physical co-ordinates: 4509 Nyugen Engineering Building, Fairfax, VA 22030.

Email: lastname at gmu dot edu

My current CV (pdf) (updated 08/2017).

Here is a complete list of my publications and presentations.

In 2009 I was awarded the NSF Early CAREER Award.

My research is funded through multiple grants from NSF (Award #s: 1712129, 1707837, 1733634, 1424444, 1408674, 1355955, 1265188, 1122609, 1044790, 0954034, 0935124, 0935143, 0835892, 0757540).

You can find me on LinkedIn and Google Scholar.

Wordle: Research

Postdoctoral Associates

Dr. Aqdas Malik (Ph.D. Aalto University)

Dr. Stephanie Kusano (Ph.D. Virginia Tech)

Dr. Janaki Srinivasan (Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley)

Dr. Seuwngwon Yang (Ph.D. Virginia Tech)

Current Students

Omaima Almatrafi (Ph.D. IT, GMU)

Hieu-Trung Le (Ph.D. IT, GMU)

Habib Karbasian (Ph.D. IT, GMU)


Bushra Chowdhury (Ph.D. Engineering Education, VT)

Hon Jie Teo (Ph.D. Engineering Education)

Stephanie Kusano (Ph.D. Engineering Education)

Andrea Goncher (Ph.D. Engineering Education)

Hon Jie Teo (Ph.D. Engineering Education)

Raktim Mitra (M.S. Thesis, Industrial and Systems Engineering)

Ashwin Khandeparker (M.S. Project, Computer Science)

And, Xiaomo Liu, Gaurav Dongaonkar, Monique Dufour, James Pembridge, Varun Ramdas, Asta Schram, Prasanna Kumar, Shreya Kothaneth, Daniel Breakiron, Vismay Shah, and Daniel Shanahan, among others.


I study the use of information and communication technologies (ICT) for learning and knowledge sharing, with a focus on cognition in informal environments. I also examine the role of ICT in supporting distributed work among globally dispersed workers and in furthering social development in emerging economies. I am especially interested in understanding the relationship between our social and material context.

My research on cognition and learning has appeared in the following journals: Journal of Engineering Education, Journal of Organizational Ethnography, International Journal of Engineering Education, Engineering Studies, Journal of Computing in Higher Education, and Research in Learning Technology.

I have published my information systems and technology related research in Journal of Computer Supported Cooperative Work, Computers in Human Behavior, Information Technology and People, Information Technology for Development, Information Systems Frontiers, and Information and Software Technology.

My research has also appeared in the proceedings of International Conference of the Learning Sciences, Computer Supported Collaborative Learning, IEEE Frontiers in Education, ASEE Annual Conference, ACM Learning @ Scale, ACM Computing and Human Systems (CHI) and ACM Computer Supported Cooperative Work (CSCW), among other venues.

The Cambridge Handbook of Engineering Education Research (CHEER), co-edited with Barbara Olds, was published in February 2014 and received the Best Book Publication Award for 2014 from Division I of AERA.


August 2017: Two New NSF Grants

NSF-DUE-IUSE (1712129): Deeper Learning of Data Science (DLDS): Studying Real-world Experiences of Engineering Professionals to Prepare the Future Workforce. Role: PI; Amount: $300,000

NSF-DUE (1707837): EAGER: Social Media Participation as Indicator of Actors, Awareness, Attitudes, and Activities Related to STEM Education. Role: PI, Amount $299,292. Co-PI: H. Purohit

May 2017: New NSF Grant and Publications

NSF-IIS-CHS (1733634): RAPID: Collaborative Research: Technology Adoption during Environmental Jolts: Mobile Phone Use and Digital Services Appropriation during India's Demonetization Crisis. Role: PI; $49,974. (Collaborator: Joyojeet Pal, University of Michigan; Total Amount $100K)

Teo, H., Johri, A. & Lohani, V. (In Press). Analytics and Patterns of Knowledge Creation: Experts at Work in an Online Engineering Community. Computers & Education.

Johri, A. & Yang, S. (2017). Scaffolded Help for Informal Learning: How Experts Support Newcomers? Productive Participation in an Online Community. Proceedings of Communities and Technologies (C&T) 2017.

Bland, L., Xu, X., Kusano, S. & Johri, A. (2017). The Development of Engineering Students? Metacognitive Skills in Informal Engineering Learning Activities. Proceedings of ASEE Annual Meeting.

Bland, L., Xu, X., Kusano, S. & Johri, A. (2017). Examining Learner-driven Constructs in Co-curricular Engineering Environments: The Role of Student Reflection in Assessment Development. Proceedings of ASEE Annual Meeting.

Johri, A. (2017). Situated Cognition Genres: A Situated Learning Approach for Examining Informal Learning in an Online Community of Makers. Proceedings of ASEE Annual Meeting.

Almatrafi, O., Johri, A., Rangwala, H. & Lester, J. (2017). Retention and Persistence among STEM Students: A Comparison of Direct Admit and Transfer Students across Engineering and Science. Proceedings of ASEE Annual Meeting.

Pal., Viswanathan, A. & Johri, A. (2017). Mediating Access: How Visually-Impaired Users Leverage Collaborative Learning to Keep Up with Mobile Phone Innovations. Proceedings of CSCL 2017.

Almatrafi, O. & Johri, A. (2017). Showing and Telling: Response Dynamics in an Online Community of Makers. Proceedings of CSCL 2017.

Pal, J., Viswanathan, A., Chandra, P., Nazareth, A., Kameshwaran, V., Subramonyam, H., Johri, A., Ackerman, M. & O?Modhrain, S. (2017) Agency in assistive technology adoption: Visual impairment and smartphone use in Bangalore. Proceedings of the CHI 2017.

July 2016: New Journal Papers & Conference Proceedings

Special Issue of Advances in Engineering Education on Data Sharing Practices in Engineering Education, co-edited with M. Vorvoreanu & K. Madhavan (Purdue), is now available online.

The special issue consists of eight case studies that illustrate data sharing issues in the community as well as an empirical paper that presents a research study conducted with community members.

Three papers presented at Educational Data Mining (EDM) 2016 Conference in Raleigh, NC, including one as part of the journal track.

Sweeney, M., Rangwala, H., Lester, J. & Johri, A. (2016). Next-Term Student Performance Prediction: A Recommender Systems Approach. Journal of Educational Data Mining.

Ren, Z., Rangwala, H. & Johri, A. (2016). Predicting Performance on MOOC Assessments using Multi-Regression Models. Proceedings of Educational Data Mining 2016. (Acceptance Rate: 50%)

*Gelman, B., Revelle, M., Domeniconi, C., Veeramachaneni, K. & Johri, A. (2016). Acting the Same Differently: A Cross-Course Comparison of User Behavior in MOOCs. Proceedings of Educational Data Mining 2016.

March 2016: New Conference Paper: Gelman, B., Beckley, C. Johri, A., Yang, S. & Domeniconi, C. (2016). Online Urbanism: Interest-based Subcultures as Drivers of Informal Learning in an Online Community. Proceedings of ACM Learning at Scale Conference 2016. (Acceptance Rate: 22%)

April 2015: Cambridge Handbook of Engineering Education Research recevies the Best Book Publication Award for 2014 awarded by Division I of AERA.

Solar Cooker laxmi IMMUNE