ICS Prize

The ICS Prize is an Annual award for best English language paper on the OR/CS interface.  The award is accompanied by a certificate and a $1,000 honorarium. 

  • To promote the development of high-quality work advancing the state of the art in operations research/computer science interface. 
  • To publicize and reward the contributions of those authors/researchers who have advanced the state of the art. 
  • To increase the visibility of excellent work in the field.
Application Process:

2004 ICS Prize Winners:

Nikolaos V. Sahinidis and Mohit Tawarmalani for their contributions to the field of Nonlinear global optimization summarized in their book Convexification and Global Optimization in Continuous and Mixed-Integer Nonlinear Programming, and embodied in the BARON software package

The work embodied in this book and the BARON software package comprises a path-breaking advance in the theory and computational practice of optimizing nonconvex nonlinear models. Mathematical programming methods have traditionally only been able to compute local optima of such models, and practitioners seeking global optima had to resort to a variety of heuristic and ad hoc techniques. This work, drawing on original contributions of the authors and the work of many other researchers, addresses the computation of provably global optima by bringing together a variety of mathematical programming techniques ranging from branch and bound to convex analysis. It thus unites a number of traditionally separate research areas in creating an enabling technology for new application fields. The book also includes interesting engineering applications, with computational results giving persuasive proof of the work's usefulness. Given the challenging nature of the models it addresses, the success of BARON is remarkable. Work of this nature opens up new applications for the future of mathematical programming.

2003 ICS Prize Winner:

Ignacio Grossman for his many contributions to Nonlinear Mixed Integer Programming and Process Design

Ignacio Grossman has made fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of mixed integer nonlinear programming (MINLP). His pioneering paper with Marco Duran on the Outer Approximation (OA) decomposition algorithm showed that it dominated Generalized Benders Decomposition for a large and important class of MINLP's. He was instrumental in developing the DICOPT implementation of OA, coupling it to the GAMS modeling language, and extending its logic to deal with problems that are non-convex in the continuous variables. DICOPT is now one of the most widely used MINLP solvers, and is largely responsible for making MINLP a viable tool for practical problem solving.
Professor Grossman has also made fundamental contributions in formulating industrially significant engineering design problems as optimization problems, with emphasis on the incorporation of logic-based modeling and algorithms. He has proposed useful measures of flexibility, and shown how to optimize flexible processes. He and his students developed ways to incorporate logical constraints into branch and bound logic which greatly speeded solution. His recent work on disjunctive programming and constraint programming maintains his high standards. In addition, he is widely recognized for his skills in recognizing and encouraging PhD students

2002 Winner:

Pascal Van Hentenryck, Brown University, was awarded "The 2002 INFORMS Computing Society Prize for Research Excellence In The Interface Between Operations Research And Computer Science" for for his many contributions to The field of Constraint Programming and its integration into Operations Research. The prize was awarded at the National Meeting of INFORMS (Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences), held in San Jose, CA, USA.

Year Winner(s)
2004 Nikolaos Sahinidis and Mohit Tawarmalani
2003 Ignacio Grossman
2002 Pascal Van Hentenryck
2001 Renato D.C. Monteiro, Yin Zhang
2000 János Pintér
1999 Yair Censor, Stavros A. Zenios
1998 Ding-Zhu Du, Frank K. Hwang
1997 Dmitri P. Bertsekas, John N. Tsitsiklis
1996 Warren Adams, Hanif Sherali
1995 John Forrest, Donald Goldfarb
1994 Fred Glover
1993 Robert Fourer, David Gay, Brian Kernighan
1992 Irvin Lustig, Roy Marsten, Nimrod Megiddo, David Shanno
1991 John Hooker
1988 Alex Meeraus
1987 Fred Glover, Darwin Klingman, Marcel Neuts
1986 Harvey Greenberg